top of page

Marco Logsdon Among Recipients of Al Smith Grant

Al Smith Individual Artist Fellowships have been awarded to 15 Kentucky visual and media artists. Four others won new emerging artist awards.

The awards, administered by the Kentucky Arts Council, are named for veteran journalist Al Smith and are given to professional artists to recognize and encourage their work.

This year's winners of $7,500 fellowships are: Fayette County: Marco Logsdon, experimental, and Laura Mentor, glass; Campbell County: Matthew Albritton, photography; Woodford County: Ronald Davis, mixed media, and Ben Durham, drawing; Madison County: Jennifer Heller Zurick, fiber, and David Zurick, photography; Rowan County: Jeffrey Nichols, ceramics; Letcher County: Nicholas Szuberla, media; Jefferson County: Joe Gray, media, Bruce Linn, painting, Mark Priest, painting and Patrick Yen, media; Warren County: Michael Nichols, painting; Henry County: Reba Rye, mixed media.

Recipients of $1,000 emerging artist awards are: Jessamine County: Laura Marie O'Neal Segre-Lewis, installation; Franklin County: Wilson Bessinger, media; Jefferson County: Erin Behling, wood, and Michael Winters, photography.

In alternate years, the Al Smith Fellowships are given to writers, composers, choreographers and interdisciplinary artists.

Marco Logsdon was previously awarded this grant in 1996 as well.

bottom of page